--- title: "How to inactivate assets?" slug: "1723138775" tags: ["Assets"] updated: 2026-11-06T08:59:01Z published: 2026-11-06T08:59:01Z canonical: "help.ila.cegid.com/1723138775" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.ila.cegid.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # How to inactivate assets? - [x] PT - [x] ES --- This operation allows you to inactivate or dispose of an asset and its child assets. --- ## Inactivate locations To inactivate a location, follow these steps: 1. Go to **Assets | Locations**; 2. Select the **location**; 3. On the location screen, click on **Operations** and then on **Inactivation History**; 4. In the location's inactivation history list, click on **Create**; 5. Choose the **inactivation mode** (required): - **Inactivate Locations Only**: inactivates the selected location and the associated locations, and the child tools and equipment are moved to the destination location. - **Move Child Assets**: you must select a destination location. Inactivates the selected location and the associated locations, and the child equipment and tools are moved to the destination location; - **Dispose** (irreversible action): inactivates the selected location and all children. You must define the user who disposes of the location, the **cost** must be **equal to or greater than zero** and the **date** must be **equal to or earlier than the current date**; 6. Fill in the remaining details; 7. Click on **Save**. In all three modes, the **work orders**, **requests** and **preventive maintenances** associated with the location to be inactivated change to the **Canceled** state, if it is possible to move to that state from the current one. In the **Inactivate Locations Only** mode, this also applies to those associated with the equipment and tools to be inactivated. The rule applies to those that are not in the **Approved** state and, in the case of the **Dispose** and **Inactivate Locations Only** modes, also to those that are not in the **final** state. To reactivate a location, go to **Assets | Locations**, select the desired record and edit it. You can only reactivate locations that have been **inactivated** and **have not been disposed of**. --- ## Inactivate equipment and tools To inactivate equipment or a tool, follow these steps: 1. Go to **Assets | Equipment** or **Assets | Tools**; 2. Select the equipment or tool; 3. On the view screen, click on **Operations** and then on **Inactivation History**; 4. In the inactivation history list, click on **Create**; 5. Choose the **inactivation mode**: - **Inactivate**: you must select a destination location. Inactivates the selected asset, and the child assets are moved to the destination location; - **Move Child Assets**: you must select a destination location. Inactivates the selected asset, and the child assets are moved to the destination location; - **Dispose** (irreversible action): inactivates the selected asset and the child assets. You must define the user who disposes of the asset, the **cost** must be **equal to or greater than zero** and the **date** must be **earlier than the current date**. 6. Fill in the remaining details; 7. Click on **Save**. The **work orders**, **requests** and **preventive maintenances** associated with the asset to be inactivated are handled according to the mode: - **Inactivate**: those that are not in the **final** state change to the **Canceled** state; - **Move Child Assets**: those that are not in the **Approved** state change to the **Canceled** state; - **Dispose**: those that are not in the **Approved** state are inactivated, and the rest change to the **Canceled** state. In all three modes, the change to the **Canceled** state is only made if it is possible to move to that state from the current one. If it is not possible, the asset is not inactivated. To reactivate an asset, go to **Assets | Equipment** or **Assets | Tools**, select the desired record and edit it. You can only reactivate assets that have been **inactivated** and **have not been disposed of**. You cannot delete an asset's **inactivation record**. > [!NOTE] > If work orders or requests have associated down time records, you must ensure that the state defined as **Canceled** also ends the down times, so that, when inactivating or disposing of an asset, all down time records are closed.